Thursday Doors – Holmwood House

I had to pick a special door for this Thursday Doors as it is also my entry for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge. I’ve posted other views of this one and I have several more… A door that leads to another door in this very unique house in Glasgow. The Holmwood House was love at first sight for me. There’s nothing I don’t find inspiring and beautiful about it. Dating to 1857-58, it was designed by Alexander ‘Greek’ Thomson, known for his Grecian styling and detailing. Other works still remain in Glasgow, in different states of repair. In some ways, this city can be quite ungrateful and forgetful of its most illustrious artists. The house itself is strangely homely, inviting. And that colour, I want it for my own front door.

Posted for Dan’s Thursday Doors and Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge

21 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – Holmwood House

  1. I read very interesting details for this excellent vintage house Sofia. First of all about the name “Greek” for Alexander Thompson. I see that he prefers Greek architecture rythm. Any way, it is very beautiful. I lave the colours, the shapes, especially in the floor.
    Nice photo Sofia among all your collection. Have a nice day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the door within the door and all the details on the flor and walls (and door color too) but the boots steal the show for me – they add so much to this photo – bring life to the dwelling and the way they sit there I feel a story…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment