Lens-Artists Challenge – Music to my Eyes

I like to think my taste in music is quite broad. My love for classical music comes from my ballet lessons. I love heavy metal as it was my way of rebelling in my early teenage years. Maybe I’m still a bit of a rebel… I love the big bands of the 1940s, the 1960s rock. If there’s a melody, I’m bound to enjoy it.

Egídio presents us this week with an intriguing challenge. We all associate different things to images. Memories, more than anything else. And those memories can also be musical ones. Music that we remember from the day, images that evoke music because of what they represent.

Let’s start with this view of the iconic Glencoe. There’s so much feeling in this area, there’s history and drama and the whole thing makes your heart feel. I’ve never knew about Caledonia by Dougie MacLean until I moved here. It’s Scotland in a song.






Moving quickly to Portugal and my city of Lisbon. It’s not a
song I’d normally listen to, and I would never pain anyone to listen to me
singing it, but it is Lisbon through and through, as is this photo. Lisboa
Menina e Moça by Carlos do Carmo.


Moving further still, Japan. I love everything Japanese and grew up playing RPGs. One of the best things about Japanese games is the soundtrack and some people, me included, think this is one of the best gaming songs ever: Dearly Beloved by Yoko Shimomura. The timeless softness reminds me of this view from Kawaguchiko, like a painting.


To finish a closer look to the music of nature. Ah, you know I had to finish with some flowers! Is there anything more inspiring than flowers and music? The extravagancy of this Dahlia can only be matched by Johann Sebastian Bach. I love the Goldenberg Variations, especially when played with string instruments. Goldenber Variations, BWV 988: XX – Juritz, Ogden & Hugh.


It’s not all serious, though. Every single time I see bees in their frenzied activity I can only think of this: The Flight of the Bumble Bee by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. Enjoy!


If you’re unfamiliar with the songs listed, I recommend a quick search. I know I’ll be doing the same, there’s something magical about discovering new music. Thank you to Egídio for this original and amazing challenge. It was great to do this association of image and music. Remember to, when you join us, link to Egídio’s original post and to tag with Lens-Artists so we can easily find you.

Last week’s challenge has opened my mind to the joys of abstracts, and I’ll be putting all the things I’ve learnt into use. A big thank you to Ritva for hosting such a creative challenge.

Next week is Tina’s turn to host. Please visit her site Saturday 4th May for more information on the challenge. Until then, take care.

If you want to know more about the Lens-Artists Challenge, please click here.

Posted for Egídio’s Lens-Artists Challege

40 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge – Music to my Eyes

  1. What a great song to discover when you moved to Scotland. I am listening to Caledonia as I type. My grandfather was Scottish and somehow, that music reaches the soul. I love that you showcased the three places you love in your life. Timeless softness was a great way to describe both your image and Dearly Beloved. And ohhh who cannot love a sweet bee!? Enjoyed this very much Sofia.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a variety of music and images you have for us here Sofia! My favourites are Glencoe (though I don’t know ‘Caledonia’) and ‘The Flight of the Bumblebees’, a wonderful shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh yes, I know the flight of the bumble-bees. And I wonder, how one is able to play the piano that fast. Some musicians even try hard to be the one who can finish it the fastest. The world record at the moment is less then 54 seconds. Amazing.

    And I also know Caledonia, but not from that artist.

    Great choice this week, Sofia!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sofia, what wonderful music choices you evoked for your beautiful images. I did have to search online for a couple of the music you mentioned. It was wonderful to hear them while looking at your beautiful photographs. Scotland, Portugal (what a beautiful Fado!), Japan, and nature – all are wonderful! The closing photo with “The Flight of the Bumble Bee” is perfect, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So many songs, Sofia! I was “turned on” to 40s music when I was selected as the sound designer for a local amateur theater production of “Philadelphia Story.” By the time I got done selecting the themes and interlude music, I was hooked. Those classics found a “push button” on my car radio for the 40s channel on SiriusXM.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A wonderful post, well composed and written – and the photos! Gorgeous choices everyone of them. The Flight of the Bumble Bee is a favourite, but I will have to find Caledonia! You really made me want to hear all new songs I find in this challenge!

    And – You were so right – I LOVED Japan. Came home two days ago and still jetlagged.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment