Friendly Friday – Christmas Preparations

I’m more a Christmas person now that I have my son than I’ve been in a long time. Christmas started being a commercial affair and working in retail shows me the ugly side of it. There’s no magic left unless there’s a child to show you the excitement of it all. And even that can be spoiled with too much consumerism.

I miss Christmas in Lisbon with my family. I miss the smell of chestnusts roasting and the fact we always had cod at Christmas Eve and how much I hate it. I miss Christmas day being a left over day, all the excitment spent at midnight and sleeping with your favourite presents next to your bed.

For many years my Christmas prep consisted of making origami balls to decorate our tree. Then I started making them for friends. It is now a family tradition, to decorate our tree with my origami, something to add to the other things we have that make our Christmas our own.

4 thoughts on “Friendly Friday – Christmas Preparations

  1. The origami ornaments look extremely intricate, but how wonderful that everyone has embraced it and that you have created a special tradition that is individual to your own family! Thanks for participating in Friendly Friday again, Sofia!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment