Friendly Friday – Splendour in the Grass

One of the best memories I’ll keep from 2020 is seating on the grass, still slightly damp from the previous night, and feel it between my toes. I am glad I have passed on this joy to my son too. We would seat and have our ice lollies while digging our toes in the cool, mostly overgrown, grass.

These are not from our grass, but the grass that always fascinated me as a photographer, beachgrass and dunes. I remember growing up and going to the beaches near Lisbon in the Summer. It would take sometimes over an hour to get there solely because of traffic, under really high temperatures with no air con. Then the sea would be cold, as it is the Atlantic. But, the redeeming feature would be the walk from the car park to the beach, through the dunes. That was something special.

At Bamburgh in England, you even get a castle to go with the dunes and the sun, the cold wind battering down on the beachgrass, like waves of a different kind of sea.

Posted for Amanda’s Friendly Friday Challenge

7 thoughts on “Friendly Friday – Splendour in the Grass

  1. Beachgrass is a great subject for photos and these are very easy on the eye. I enjoyed hearing about your fond memories of childhood times which worked well to accompany the photos! I didn’t’ know the Atlantic ocean could be so cold, given the air temperatures you mentioned. It does makes sense I guess. I believe the temperature is dropping too with the melting ice?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Atlantic can be painfully cold on our west coast, but in the Algarve, with a mixture of waters from the Med is a lot warmer. This year it got to 24ºC there, unheard of when I was growing up, so not sure how things work.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The global temperatures are rising, and I guess that means water temperature may rise too. And then the jetstream may be affected, I guess. Even though we live in a hot climate, the water is a bit cool to swim in winter, even though it doesn’t change that much. The air temperature just makes it feel colder as some part of your body sticks out of the water!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment