Friendly Friday – Wildflowers

Last year I had a lot of work trying to get rid of anything that was growing in my garden that I didn’t plant and therefore, wasn’t sure of what it might be. This year I had a different approach, especially because I realised my neighbour’s garden is full of lovely plants wanting to cross the fence. So I’ve let them and while I’m waiting for my calendulas to give extra colour, I’m enjoying the amount of Foxgloves I have everywhere. And to think I bought seeds before and they never worked…


At the moment, I wish my tiny front garden would be like this. But it’s not. Having again bought a selection of widlflower seeds, they never to come to anything. Abandoned the idea of a country meadow, I planted other completely different shrubs, that are now completely drowned in what is left of hundreds buttercups. It’s an ugly mess and just proves that even wildflowers are difficult to get right.

And then nature just shows me how easy it is to do it, when you know what you are doing. Bluebells are an amazing sight between May and July. I didn’t know until recently that almost half of Bluebells in the world can be found in the UK. They’ve been struggling in the parks around here as people are taking to walks in woodland areas and trampling them. They take years to recover from that kind of damage. Also, there are quite a few different types of Thistles, Scotlands National Flower. The biggest thistle type I’ve ever seen was funnily enough in Portugal, the size of a childs’ fist! These ones are smaller, a bit more pinkish but still lovely.

Posted for Amanda’s Friendly Friday Challenge

8 thoughts on “Friendly Friday – Wildflowers

  1. Nature is the master – in all things really. But never more so, than in determining what grows where. Letting nature take its course is a wise move as this is in sync with your little environmental niche, the ecosystem around your house. I love that you are having foxgloves infiltrate your garden. Fantastic! I have had seeds of cultivated wildflowers that never germinate. Perhaps collecting seeds from the real wild flowers might work better? That garden in the main photo is so aesthetic, it makes you want to paint it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve picked quite a few seeds last year from anything growing in the garden, I also got some from a friend that started gardening during the first lockdown. I had mixed results…
      That garden is the walled garden in Culzean Castle in Ayrshire, one of my favourite places to visit.

      Like

Leave a comment