Friendly Friday – Framing Your Subject

Sarah asks us to show our examples of framing the subjects of our photos by using natural or man-made structures. This helps to highlight and draw attention to what we really want you to see. Framing also adds information to the shot, allowing to step back and have a more inclusive view. The next shots show examples of natural framing. In both cases, they show how splendid the surroundings in these gardens were while focusing on details too.

Sarah also mentions arches as a way of framing a shot. I find these the most straightforward and clear frames. Nothing wrong with that, though. Using an arch to frame enlightens the viewer on the space and you’re position to your subject. The picture of the Alcazar in Seville shows the difference in light between the outside and inside spaces, the one from Linlithgow helps to have a feel for how grand the place is.

Frames can also have different sizes. A barely there frame just shows I was under another building while taking this shot, in Évora, Portugal. The lamp adds another layer of interest. While in the one taken in Kyoto’s Higashi Hogan-ji temple, the frame takes most of the image, still allowing to see the roof structures within, the sunset and, yes, another lamp too.

To finish, a series of shapes will also do. I love this photo although I’m pretty sure my subject wasn’t as happy as he could’ve been.

Posted for Sarah’s Friendly Friday Challenge

16 thoughts on “Friendly Friday – Framing Your Subject

  1. The picture of the Alcazar in Seville showing the difference in light between the outside and inside spaces is perfect, Sofia! I would have stuffed up that shot by over or under exposing! Well done! I just love the composition of the Kyoto temple photograph. It highlights what you want to see and is a unique and different way to present it. Excellent!
    And amusing last shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great selection Sofia! They all illustrate the value of frames really well but my favourites have to be the Kyoto temple (an unusual but effective angle) and that slightly grumpy man in the last phot!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice selection, Sofia. I think I may have to see what I have in my files. I especially like your second arch. It adds information as well as framing. I know this is a grand home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment