Friendly Friday – Beneath My Feet

If you spotted Sarah’s post (from Travel with Me) and you know I’m Portuguese, then it won’t be much of a surprise to know I’m used to looking at what is beneath my feet. I’ll start with the place where most streets are covered with beautiful, skillful artwork called Calçada Portuguesa.

Not all streets are like this, so wonderfully designed, but all of them are at least in white cobblestone, carefully cut and placed, like a gigantic jigsaw. It’s slippery and uneven but it’s also home.


So, I can’t resist a nicely patterned floor. The first photo was taken in one of the corridors at the Louvre. Apparently there was nothing to see but for me, there was and it was beneath my feet. The second one is at the Bridge Club in Glasgow. I don’t play bridge but was lucky to visit this absolutely grand victorian house in the posh part of town. This mosaic is at the entrance and it sets the mood for the rest of the place.


Last week I was back in Portugal and went to our Jurassic Coast. It’s a region rich in dinosaur fossils and it’s also part of my childhood. I’m used to seeing fossils of all kinds but I’m still in awe with some of the things we find. This time we were literally walking on tiny fossils like the ones on this photo.


To finish a very fancy swimming pool floor at the Jupiter Artland in Scotland but by Portuguese artist Joana Vasconcelos. I was not expecting to see her work so far away that I took loads of photos. I love the colourful and swirly design.


Posted for Amanda’s Friendly Friday Challenge

13 thoughts on “Friendly Friday – Beneath My Feet

  1. Super examples! That pool is so colourful and the mosaic in the Bridge Club reminiscent of Ancient Roman ones (is it a copy?) but of course my favourite is Lisbon! Was that taken from Santa Justa? And thanks for the link and shout out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Sarah. I’m so glad you liked them. The bridge culb one feels roman but I’m not sure if it is a copy or not. The Lisbon one was taken from the top of the Rua Augusta Arch. I hope you’ve been there, terrific views to all the Baixa section.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment