Lens-Artists Challenge – Day & Night

Having passed the Winter Equinox, now it’s time for the days to grow ever so slightly longer, and to leave the never-ending nights behind us. But before we do that, let’s celebrate this Yin/Yang of our everyday life. Following last week’s brilliant challenge led by Ann-Christine, I went in search of inspiring quotes for this one. Maybe it’s my lack of experience of quote hunting but most focused on night’s darkness as a negative thing- no doubt, there will be some amazing quotes on your replies…! Yet, as I thought about this topic, I wanted to concentrate on the beauty of each one of them.

First thought was on how to show an obvious contrast between them. I usually only think in those terms when travelling and I have the perfect example here, our cracking view to the Imperial Gardens from our hotel window in Tokyo.


Night gives way to the day with spectacular sunrises. I’m not one for chasing them but Winter has this small gift of magic in the morning (and at very decent hours for us here, in the North). The everyday rat race is transformed, and school runs are so much more interesting.


As the day progresses, so does the light. And they’re not one and the same. This Winter I feel in love with the soft daylight, almost impossibly low in the horizon, almost impossible to guess the time of the day.


Summer gives us striking shadows with its powerful bright days, but it can also be too harsh on softer subjects. It’s midday now, no compromise on the rawness of the colours.


As day turns to night and we have twilight, everything turns to mystery. Light melts into shadows, things appear softly, while others lose their detailing. Now it’s the time for imagination to run wild.


The cycle is nearly done as night sets again. It’s not, for me, the villain of this story. Night allows a different kind of magic. It brings the creation of wonderful things that try to banish the same thing that allows them to exist, that overpowering darkness.


This week’s challenge is about Day and Night. I took you on a journey throughout the cycle between them, this endless, but not without variations, cycle. Show us how you see them both, if and/or how it changes the way you photograph, whichever is your favourite. If you can join us, please link back to this post and remember to tag Lens-Artists so we can find you.

Next week is Egídio’s turn to host with “Warm Colours”. I invite you to visit Egídio’s amazing site Saturday 3rd February. Until then, take care.

If you want more info about the Lens-Artists Challenge, please click here.

151 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge – Day & Night

  1. Thank you for hosting such an inspiring theme, Sofia! I love your disposition of thoughts and images, how you lead us through the full circle of day into night and make us see the glory of it all. Wonderful language that rings of poetry and yes – every hour has its own. I too appreciate the possibilities of late mornings to see the sunrise. Your night photography shines, and this time I have an absolute favourite among all favourites – the evening when a man is looking out on the magical beauty of it all (Edinburgh?),

    It wasn’t easy to come up with something to match your theme, so I hope you don’t mind my tweaking it a little bit. Finally I finished it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t see any tweaking on your part, Ann-Christine, just an excellent post. In any case, challenges are more interesting when we think outside the box.
      I’m glad you liked the Edinburgh one. It’s a photo I’ve been tempted to bring more detail, but decided against it.

      Like

  2. I loved these photos Sofia – especially the first two of the city. You and Tina have inspired me on how to proceed with the challenge. I’ll come back with my post.

    As always, your captures combine the pristine and imaginative. I recognize that this is what photographers on Instagram try to capture but except for the really good ones, the efforts more often than not go more to the subject of the photo and not so much the overall context of it. I want to highlight both and everytime I think I can’t do it, I see yours and I know if I try hard enough I can.

    Archer

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous images, Sofia, and a thought-provoking challenge. You really picked a very expressive way to explore the topic. I love that! And your images beautifully illustrate your thoughts. I’m sorry you had to hunt for my post. It’s too bad the links didn’t show up here, but I’ll post a link just in case someone else wants to view it. Your theme has generated many wonderful posts.

    https://pilotfishblog.com/2024/01/28/lapc-284-day-and-night/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Patti and well thought to have your link on your comment, I’m sure people would want to see your wonderful post if then haven’t already… it’s a shame WP sometimes doesn’t really help 😦

      Like

Leave a comment