Lens-Artists Challenge – Water in Motion

“There’s something about the water – that solitary kind of peaceful feeling. You’re on Earth but not quite.”

John C. Reilly

I was trying to find the right words to start this challenge and words failed me. How to explain a feeling I can only have when I hear the sound of moving water? Then, a quote came to the rescue, and everything fell into place. This week’s challenge is about Water in Motion.

As I organised my photos and thoughts it made sense to start not with a single drop of water, but the continuous stream of the softest water, a mind that wanders way.

Kanazawa Sōzu Japanese Water fountain

The ripples are almost hypnotic, perfectly concentric. Maybe this is the reason I love Japan so much. The peaceful state of mind.

Sōzu Nara Park

It rains a lot around these parts. The sound of falling rain can be so soothing (especially when you are indoors). Considering where we live, I thought I had loads of photos of rain, but I obviously struggle with getting a good one. I’ve shared this photo before, Glasgow under the pouring, bouncing rain.

Argyle Street, Glasgow

Water in its movement is so fascinating, it is little wonder fountains are a favourite subject to photograph. They can be grand…

Fontaine des Mers, Paris

…relaxing….

Generalife, Alhambra


…and playful.

Nagoya Fountain

But our last stop is a water that no one controls, in perpetual movement. A water that allows our world and its creatures to survive. (The otters were not photographed in the wild, I wish they were…!)


This week we’re looking for Water in Motion, gentle or powerful, man-made or natural, the choice is yours. When you join us, please remember to link back to this post and to tag Lens-Artists when you join us. I am curious to see what you can find.

Last week we had a wonderful challenge led by Tina about People, with fantastic photos of people from around the world. A truly inspiring theme.

Next week is John’s turn to lead. Make sure you visit his site for another always remarkable challenge, Saturday 6th April. Until then, take care.

164 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge – Water in Motion

  1. Sofia, I really enjoyed working with your great topic for the week! (I apologize being late, it was a whirlwind week with family visiting and little time to think!) I enjoyed reading your thoughts about water in motion and your examples were perfect. And, it wasn’t until I just went back to your post did I realize i chose the same quote you used in your opening! Here is my post on Water in Motion: https://mycolorfulexpressions.com/lens-artists-photo-challenge-293-water-in-motion/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment