Lens-Artists Challenge – Rock Your World

I love this kind of challenges, where you can take it and run with it in any direction. It’s fun, especially if you let your imagination fly. Yet, I’m quite grounded this week for I’m taking this literally. There’s a reason for it, as always. For a few years now, I’ve started picking up rocks from everywhere we go. I wish I labelled them but, as it stands, my collection of rocks covers from Japan to Spain, and I have no idea which one is which.

Recently I also reverted to my passion of fossil hunting and having been dragging the fam anywhere I can go with that purpose. Our latest adventure was just a few weeks ago.

So, we’ll start with one find from that hunt, the treasures hidden in a bit of shale. The more we hammered it the more it revealed, and I have this feeling that there’s so much still there. This is not gold but the fossil of a Bryozoan, aquatic invertebrate animal.


Some treasures are in plain sight, if you have a thing for history. This massive boulder was on a beach in the south of Scotland. It looked like it had been dragged by a glacier, millions of years ago. I like that story, real or not; it seems to fit with its character.


 Others stay in place and let the water rush through them, taking one bit at a time, with care.


Rocks have, too, this ability to inspire. For me, either by their colours, textures or the stories they tell, like these from my collection.


More creative minds work them, mould them into other shapes and give them other meanings. The Elgin Marbles are unforgettable.


As was this humbler creation, spotted by chance on a beach near Edinburgh.


I like when rocks are used in a specific way to create a harmonious space with nature. The different textures and colours make this carefully manicured sozu at Kanazawa.


Real rock, man-made, or even both, they bring peace into our gardens in the shape of lovely water features. They transform everything.


I could have gone full nerd here, but I can see it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, so I’ll stop while I’m hopefully still ahead! A massive thank you to Donna for this challenge. Please visit her exquisite post and join us. Remember to link back to Donna’s original post and to tag Lens-Artists so we can find you.

Last week John was our host with a challenge that showed me the way to look beyond the editing I’m so used to do. I shall try to be bolder and that is all thanks to you.

Next week is Ritva’s turn to host, so check her wonderful site Saturday 20th April for more information.

If you want to know more about the Lens-Artists Challenge, please click here.

Posted for Donna’s Lens-Artists Challenge

45 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge – Rock Your World

  1. So nice Sofia, in your thoughts and images. Cheers to a fellow rock nerd. What a great hobby to collect rocks from places you visit, a much better memory than the trusty magnet from a souvenir shop. Even if you don’t remember the place, you remember a reason you picked it up. I am impressed at the fossil. I would LOVE that! In our country, most areas forbid collecting so how lucky you are to find and also study when you get home. It IS funny to think rocks can bring peace and harmony to our spaces. The Japanese master that concept in their gardens. I visited our Japanese Friendship Garden after reading so much about your love of the culture. Our garden is located in the center of our bustling city, and I was completely impressed with how quiet it felt in my walk of the grounds. Your photo of Kanazawa reminds me of that, and I love the smooth rocks they always place on the edges. So beautiful Sofia, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In honesty, we’re only allowed to pick what is already loose, on the ground. No hammering on cliffs or anything like it. But you do find amazing stuff, if you know what to look for. The Japanese garden has that effect on me, everytime. I’m so happy you had a look after my posts, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are great – I love your little rock collections (we have similar ones too scattered around the house on windowsills and other places!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I laughed out loud at your going “full nerd” with this one Sofia. Your rock collection looks wonderful, and a great reminder of the places you’ve been even if you don’t know which is from where!! Especially loved your 2 closing images. They look Japanese to me, are they?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Tina. The last one isn’t, although it’s probably influenced by Japanese gardens. It’s here in Scotland, Threave Gardens. The other one is in Kanazawa.

      Like

  4. Lovely post, Sofia 🙂. I have picked a pebble or two as a reminder from some places I’ve visited (and of course have no idea anymore, where either of them are from). But these days, one can never be sure where it’s allowed and where not. So now I have stopped doing so and instead, just collect photos…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed the span of your post, Sophia. Rocks and water are such a wonderful combination of beauty and sound. The Japanese gardens always make perfect use of the two together. My husband loves fossils and I have a feeling once he retires, we may be doing some fossil hunting.

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  6. You’re right, you are right up my alley, Sofia. I love rocks, too. I had a large collection when I taught fourth grade because we studied them. I gave them away when I retired to another teacher. One of your rocks looks exactly like our granite dells. Like many of your readers, I also love the Japanese gardens, and the sozu is so inspiring. 🙂 Thanks for expanding my world.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I too like when rocks are used to create a harmonious space with nature. Especially with water. I know I will see something of that next week. Rock nerd – well, I once was too, and my garden is their home now. I no longer remember where they all came from, the only ones I am certain about is the icelandic lavastones.

    I love your post from start to finish, not only for the images but also for the fact that you are still collecting and still loving. It is an ongoing story. Thank you for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment